About Us


The NE UTC invests in the future of transportation to develop the next generation of transportation professionals.

About Us


The nationwide University Transportation Centers program was created in 1987 by the US Department of Transportation to attract the nation's best talent to the study of transportation. It established ten university transportation centers, one each in the ten standard Federal regions, to provide a national resource for research and education in both freight and passenger transportation.

The New England Center focuses its research investments on safety and livable communities. With an emphasis on highways and transit, three integrated technology research categories are addressed by the Center’s research, education and technology transfer activities: ubiquitous intelligence, big data and user performance across the lifespan.

MIT is the lead university in Region One, where the UTC program is administered through the New England University Transportation Center. The other schools in the New England Center consortium are: the University of Connecticut, the University of Maine, the University of Massachusetts, Amherst, and Harvard University. For UTC contact information at each of these member schools, see the Policy Committee link under Key Personnel.

All five of these Region One schools have long-standing commitments to improve transportation in New England, which they have fulfilled through a variety of research and education activities. Region One, however, is also concerned with more far-reaching transportation issues, reflecting the fact that the Center's members draw students and research support from around the country and the world. The Region One program is designed to take advantage of these strengths to address research topics of national, regional and international importance.